MENU
 

It's easy to get answers about health and nutrition! Just send your question by email to askdrgourmet@drgourmet.com and Dr. Harlan will respond to selected questions of general interest. Answers will be posted in the Ask Dr. Gourmet newsletter (sign up now!) and archived in the Ask Dr. Gourmet section of the website.

Please note that the Ask Dr. Gourmet feature is restricted to questions regarding food and nutrition. Due to the many questions we receive, not all questions may be answered. For more specific questions about your individual health, please contact your doctor. About Timothy S. Harlan, MD, FACP | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy


 

Ask Dr. Gourmet



Is balsamic vinegar gluten-free?

Does balsamic vinegar contain gluten?

Dr. Gourmet Says...

Balsamic Vinegar, grapes, olive oil, and olives

Balsamic vinegar is made from the white trebbiano grape.

As with all vinegars, the grapes (or other sugar containing base, such as apples or rice) are cooked to concentrate the flavors. This reduction is called the "must" and is then fermented in wooden casks. There are two steps in the process, where the first fermentation produces an alcohol such as wine or cider, and the second fermentation creates the vinegar.

Because the only ingredients are the grapes, water, and a yeast starter, balsamic vinegar is gluten free.

Here is more information on Balsamic Vinegar, including recipes.

Thanks for writing,

Timothy S. Harlan, MD, FACP
Dr. Gourmet